Lighthousegal’s Scrap Shack

November 10, 2009

Early – but that’s ok

Filed under: Blessings, Kid stories, parenting — Mayhem Mama @ 2:41 pm

Today was JB’s first therapy appointment.  It is very early – 0730, as in 7:30 AM, as in my eyes are barely open by that time on a normal day, let alone have I showered, driven 30 minutes and spoken civil words to my DH or children.  But we were there!!!!  The best part, this therapy time won’t make her lose any class time in school.  The second best thing is that the therapist that we got is the same one who did the evaluation and we all really clicked together!  So now the stage is set for a great therapy session.  As she is having JB work on some sheets to evaluate her visual comprehension, she started telling me about a conference that she went to just after our initial evaluation which addressed all the challenges that JB exhibited during her evaluation.  She said she had some new tests for her and some great new therapies “so you don’t have to see me forever”.  I am just so thankful that God moved everything the way he did. In talking with the therapist, 2 other families had been offered this therapy slot and the time had not worked out for them.  There are therapists in the clinic still out on medical leave, so our therapist was the one that was assigned to JB.  It is all just working out so perfectly. 

Not only that, I scored some serious mom points with JB this morning.   I stayed up and fixed congee last night (Chinese rice gruel/soup).   When we adopted her, her first “solid” food was a banana and some congee.  She has loved it ever since.  I have spent the last 7 years trying to come up with the “perfect” recipe.  I think I really nailed it last night.  JB ate 1.5 bowls of it for breakfast.  Then I got lots of hugs from her, too.  Not too bad a deal, as far as I am concerned. 

EB has changed over the last 2 weeks – her maturity level is growing, her confidence is growing, and she learned a new skill – the child can now skip!  I have spent several days, as has her sister, trying to teach her to skip.  She could only gallop.  One day she came up to me and said “Look, Mommy, I can skip”.  Sure enough, she was skipping!  Now she skips everywhere.  I know it is a little thing, but this child has come so far with her physical abilities.  This is a child who would stand on the edge of a step, bounce like she was going to leap off , and then either fall down on her bottom or just step off until she was almost 4.  She just started to hop on one foot in the last year.  Now this chickie is crossing the monkey bars, skipping, doing flips off the bar on the swingset, and generally giving me heart failure.  I am so proud of her! 

Thankfully I am about to complete the never-ending vacation scrapbook from the summer of 2008.  Once that is done I am so ready to start working on some other fun things!  I am so far behind in my scrapbooking I am not sure I am ever going to be able to catch up.  But I have learned a lot doing the vacation book, and I have had fun doing it, so that is all that matters. 

Well, that is all that is going on around here.  Hope you all have a great day!

2 Comments »

  1. How wonderful! The Tongginator didn’t walk until almost 19 months of age… and we had lots of sensory-related gross motor problems. But now? At 5.5 years old? She is doing great! She still can’t cross the monkey bars or swim, but she has come SO FAR. And it makes me (and her) appreciate the milestone accomplishments all that much more.

    Comment by Tonggu Momma — November 12, 2009 @ 6:01 am

  2. I’m reminded that I’ve still not finished our 2008 vacation scrapbook. Sigh….

    Good news about the therapy though! Sounds like it’s gonna be great!

    Donna

    Comment by Donna — November 12, 2009 @ 2:59 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

